SBN-2	264
-------	-----

FINAL ACTION:

RANO. 9520

AN ACT AMENDING THE COOPERATIVE CODE OF THE PHILIPPINES TO BE KNOWN AS THE PHILIPPINE COOPERATIVE CODE OF 2008

SA.

[FIRST REGULAR SESSION, 14TH CONGRESS] [2008]

[FIRST REGULAR SESSION, 14TH CONGRESS] [2008] Prepared and submitted jointly by the Committee(s) on COOPERATIVES, BANKS, FINANCIAL May. 7 INSTITUTIONS AND CURRENCIES, CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS, REVISION OF CODES AND LAWS, FINANCE, URBAN PLANNING, HOUSING AND RESETTLEMENT and WAYS AND MEANS with Senator(s) RODOLFO G. BIAZON, JINGGOY P. EJERCITO-ESTRADA, AQUILINO Q. PIMENTEL JR., JUAN MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI and MANNY VILLAR as author(s) per Committee Report No. 51, recommending its approval in substitution of SBNos. 184, 428, 444, 1147, 1553 and 1924; May. 12 Committee Report Calendared for Ordinary Business; Sponsor: Senator JUAN MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI; Assigned for Consideration by Special Order; Sponsorship speech of Senator JUAN MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI; May. 21 Interpellation of Senator AQUILINO Q. PIMENTEL JR.; May. 26 Interpellation of Senator M.A. Madrigal: May. 27 Interpellation of Senator BENIGNO S. AQUINO III: Jun. 4 Period of interpellation closed subject to qualification that those who wish to introduced their individual amendments may raise clarificatory questions during the period of individual amendments; Jun. 11 Interpellation of Senator(s) MIRIAM DEFENSOR SANTIAGO, JUAN PONCE ENRILE and MAR ROXAS; Period of committee amendments; Period of committee amendments closed; Senator Aquino request for a clean copy of the amendments; Jul. 29 Period of individual amendments: Aug. 4 Period of individual amendments; Period of individual amendments closed; Aug. 11 Senator Lapid was made as coauthor; Aug. 12 Reconsideration of the closing of the period of amendments: Period of committee amendments; Period of committee amendments closed: Approved on Second Reading with Amendments; Printed copies were distributed to the Senators; Aug. 14 Approved on Third Reading: Aug. 26 In favor: (18) Senators Aquino III, Biazon, Cayetano Alan Peter, Cayetano Pia, Miriam Defensor Santiago, Jinggoy Ejercito Estrada, Enrile, Escudero, Gordon, Honasan, Lacson, Lapid, M.A. Madrigal, Pangilinan, Revilla, Jr., Roxas, Villar, and Zubiri; Against: None; Abstention: None; Aug. 28 Sent to the House of Representatives requesting for concurrence; Oct. 8 Senate requested the House of Representatives for a conference on the disagreeing provisions of SBN-2264 and HBN-4312, and designated Senators Zubiri, Angara, Escudero, Aquino and Biazon as its conferees to the Bicameral Conference Committee; House of Representatives designated Representatives Pablo (E.), Domogan (M.), Cua (G.), Valdez (E.), Olano Nov. 11 (A.), Garcia (P.), Gonzales II (N.), and Cayetano (Ma. L.) as its conferees to the Bicameral Conference Committee on October 8, 2008; Nov. 19 House of Representatives elected Representatives Gullas (E.), Villafuerte (L.), and Javier (E.), as additional conferees to the Bicameral Conference Committee on November 11, 2008; Nov. 26 Sponsorship speech on the conference committee report of Senator JUAN MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI; Conference Committee Report Approved by the Senate; Dec. 10 Conference Committee Report approved by the House of Representatives on December 2, 2008; House of Representatives reconsidered the approval of Bicameral Conference Report on the disagreeing provisions of SBN-2264 and HBN-4312 on December 3, 2008; Senate reconsidered the approval of Bicameral Conference Committee Report on the disagreeing provisions of SBN-2264 and HBN-4312, and reconstituted its panel designating Senators Zubiri, Angara, Aquino III, Escudero and Biazon as its conferees; Conference Committee Report submitted to the Senate recommending that SBN-2264, in consolidation with Dec. 16 HBN-4312, be approved as reconciled: Conference Committee Report Approved by the Senate; Conference Committee Report approved by the House of Representatives on December 9, 2008; - House of Representatives reconsidered the approval of the Conference Committee Report on the disagreeing Dec. 17 provisions of HBN-4312 and SBN-2264, and reconstituted the members of the House panel, with Representatives Pablo (E.), Cua (G.), Valdez (E.), Olano (A.), Garcia (P.), Domogan (M.), Cayetano (Ma. L.), Javier (E.), Gonzales II (N.), Villafuerte (L.) and Gullas (E.) as its conferees on December 15, 2008; Conference Committee Report approved by the House of Representatives on December 16, 2008; [2009] Jan. 27 Enrolled copies of the consolidated version of SBN-2264 and HBN-4312, sent to the House of Representatives for the signature of the Speaker and the Secretary General; Feb. 2 Enrolled copies of the consolidated version of SBN-2264 and HBN-4312, received by the Senate, which were signed by the Speaker and the Secretary General of the House of Representatives; Enrolled copies of the consolidated version of SBN-2264 and HBN-4312, sent to the Office of the President of the Philippines, for the signature and approval of Her Excellency, President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo; Feb. 23 Consolidated with HBN-4312 which was Approved and Signed into Law by the President of the Philippines ON February 17, 2009, and became **REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9520** ı Ç