CONGRESS OF THE PHILIPPINES EIGHTEENTH CONGRESS Third Regular Session

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

H. No. 10064

BY REPRESENTATIVES MERCADO, VELOSO, YAP (E.), REVILLA, SINGSON-MEEHAN, AGABAS, MACAPAGAL ARROYO, QUIMBO, ZARATE, ERMITA-BUHAIN, BAUTISTA-BANDIGAN, BIAZON, CALDERON, CUA, CUARESMA, DALIPE, DAZA, FARIÑAS I (R.C.), GARCIA (J.E.), GASATAYA, GO (E.C.), GONZAGA, GONZALEZ, HARESCO, LIMKAICHONG, REYES, SAGARBARRIA, SALCEDA, SUAREZ (D.), TEJADA, VIOLAGO, ZUBIRI, ABUEG-ZALDIVAR, BARONDA, BENITEZ, BORDADO, BRAVO, CABATBAT, CARI, DAGOOC, DALOG, DELOSO-MONTALLA, DIMAPORO (A.), DIMAPORO (M.K.), GULLAS, HOFER, LABADLABAD, MACEDA, MALAPITAN, MARIÑO, NATIVIDAD-NAGAÑO, NAVA, OUANO-DIZON, TAMBUNTING, TAN (A.), TUTOR, CABOCHAN, NIETO, ORDANES, PEÑA, ROBES, ROMULO, TY (A.) AND VERGARA, PER COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 1162

AN ACT

CREATING TWO (2) ADDITIONAL BRANCHES OF THE REGIONAL TRIAL COURT IN THE EIGHTH JUDICIAL REGION TO BE STATIONED IN THE CITY OF MAASIN AND IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF SOGOD, PROVINCE OF SOUTHERN LEYTE, AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTION 14 (I) OF BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 129, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS 'THE JUDICIARY REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1980', AS AMENDED

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Two (2) additional branches of the Regional Trial Court in the Eighth Judicial Region are hereby created and stationed in the City of Maasin and in the Municipality of Sogod, all in the Province of Southern Leyte.

4 5

The Supreme Court shall assign the respective branch numbers for the newly created branches of the Regional Trial Court.

6 7

8 **SEC. 2.** The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, in coordination with the Secretary 9 of the Department of Justice, shall immediately include in the Court's program the 10 operationalization of the additional branches of the Regional Trial Court in the City of 11 Maasin and in the Municipality of Sogod, all in the Province of Southern Leyte. The funds necessary for the operation of the courts herein created shall be appropriated and released only upon the actual organization of the courts and the appointment of its personnel.

SEC. 3. Section 14 (i) of Batas Pambansa Blg. 129, otherwise known as "The Judiciary Reorganization Act of 1980", as amended, and all other laws, rules and regulations which are inconsistent with this Act are hereby amended, repealed or modified accordingly.

SEC. 4. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the *Official Gazette* or in a newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,