CONGRESS OF THE PHILIPPINES EIGHTEENTH CONGRESS Third Regular Session

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

H. No. 9841

By Representatives Abueg-Zaldivar, Veloso, Yap (E.), Lusotan, Revilla, Singson-Meehan, Agabas, Macapagal Arroyo, Quimbo, Zarate, Ermita-Buhain, Bautista-Bandigan, Biazon, Calderon, Cua, Cuaresma, Dalipe, Daza, Fariñas I (R.C.), Garcia (J.E.), Gasataya, Go (E.C.), Gonzaga, Gonzalez, Haresco, Limkaichong, Reyes, Sagarbarria, Salceda, Suarez (D.), Tejada, Violago, Zubiri, Baronda, Benitez, Bordado, Bravo, Cabatbat, Cari, Dagooc, Dalog, Deloso-Montalla, Dimaporo (A.), Dimaporo (M.K.), Gullas, Hofer, Labadlabad, Maceda, Malapitan, Mariño, Natividad-Nagaño, Nava, Ouano-Dizon, Tambunting, Tan (A.), Tutor, Cabochan, Nieto, Ordanes, Peña, Robes, Romulo, Ty (A.) and Vergara, per Committee Report No. 1089

AN ACT

CREATING A SHARI'A JUDICIAL DISTRICT COMPRISING THE PROVINCE OF PALAWAN AND THE CITY OF PUERTO PRINCESA, AND CREATING THEREIN ONE (1) SHARI'A DISTRICT COURT TO BE STATIONED IN THE CITY OF PUERTO PRINCESA, AND TWO (2) SHARI'A CIRCUIT COURTS TO BE STATIONED IN THE MUNICIPALITIES OF TAYTAY AND BROOKE'S POINT, PROVINCE OF PALAWAN, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE ARTICLES 138, 147, AND 150 OF PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 1083, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE "CODE OF MUSLIM PERSONAL LAWS OF THE PHILIPPINES," AS AMENDED, AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Article 138 of Presidential Decree No. 1083, otherwise known as the "Code of Muslim Personal Laws of the Philippines", is hereby amended to read as follows:

"ARTICLE 138. Shari'a judicial districts. – [Five]SIX special judicial districts, each to have one Shari'a District Court presided over by one judge, are constituted as follows:

3 4 5

1

2

5

- (a) The First Shari'a District shall comprise the Province of Sulu;
- (b) The Second Shari'a District, the Province of Tawi-Tawi;
- (c) The Third Shari'a District, the Province of Basilan, Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur, and the Cities of Dipolog, Pagadian and Zamboanga;
- (d) The Fourth Shari'a District, the provinces of Lanao del Norte and Lanao del Sur, and the Cities of Iligan and Marawi; [and]
- (e) The Fifth Shari'a District, the Provinces of Maguindanao, North Cotabato and Sultan Kudarat, and the City of Cotabato[.]; AND

(F) THE SIXTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, THE PROVINCE OF PALAWAN AND THE CITY OF PUERTO PRINCESA"

SEC. 2. Article 147 of the same law is hereby amended to read as follows:

"ARTICLE 147. Permanent stations; offices. – (1) The Shari'a District Courts shall have their respective permanent stations in the following places:

- (a) First Shari'a District, Jolo, Sulu;
- (b) Second Shari'a District, Bongao, Tawi-Tawi;
- (c) Third Shari'a District, Zamboanga City;
- (d) Fourth Shari'a District, Marawi City;
- (e) Fifth Shari'a District, Cotabato City; AND

(F) SIXTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, PUERTO PRINCESA CITY.

- (2) The Shari'a District Courts may hold sessions anywhere within their respective districts.
- (3) The provinces, cities or municipalities concerned shall provide such courts with adequate court office, supplies and equipment in accordance with the provisions of the Judiciary Law."
- **SEC. 3.** Article 150 of the same law is hereby amended to read as follows:

"ARTICLE 150. Where established. – (1) Shari'a Circuit Courts shall be established as follows:

- (a) Six such courts in the Province of Sulu;
- (b) Eight in the Province of Tawi-Tawi;
- (c) Ten in and for the Provinces of Basilan, Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur, and the Cities of Dipolog, Pagadian, and

Zamboanga;

- (d) Twelve in and for the Provinces of Lanao del Norte and Lanao del Sur and the Cities of Iligan and Marawi;
- (e) Fifteen in and for the Province of Maguindanao, North Cotabato and Sultan Kudarat and the City of Cotabato[.]; AND
- (F) TWO FOR THE PROVINCE OF PALAWAN, TO BE STATIONED IN THE MUNICIPALITIES OF TAYTAY AND BROOKE'S POINT."
- (2) The territorial jurisdiction of each of the Shari'a Circuit Courts shall be fixed by the Supreme Court on the basis of geographical contiguity of the municipalities and cities concerned and their Muslim population.
- **SEC. 4.** The Chief Justice of the Supreme Courts hall immediately include in the Court's program the operationalization of the newly created Shari'a District Court in the city of Puerto Princesa and the Shari'a Circuit Courts in the municipalities of Taytay and Brooke's Point, province of Palawan. The funds necessary for the operation of the courts herein created shall be appropriated and released only upon the actual organization of the courts and the appointment of its personnel.
- **SEC. 5.** Articles 138, 147 and 150 of Presidential Decree No. 1083, otherwise known as the "Code of Muslim Personal Laws of the Philippines", as amended, and all other laws, rules and regulations which are inconsistent with this Act are hereby amended, repealed or modified accordingly.
- **SEC. 6.** This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the *Official Gazette* or in a newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,