Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Metro Manila

Chirteenth Congress

Third Special Session

Begun and held in Metro Manila, on Monday, the nineteenth day of February, two thousand seven.

[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9423]

AN ACT CREATING AN ADDITIONAL BRANCH OF THE REGIONAL TRIAL COURT IN THE PROVINCE OF LANAO DEL SUR TO BE STATIONED AT THE MUNICIPALITY OF WAO, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTION 14, PARAGRAPH (M) OF BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 129, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE JUDICIARY REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1980, AS AMENDED, AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Section 14, paragraph (m) of Batas Pambansa Blg. 129, otherwise known as the Judiciary Reorganization Act of 1980, as amended, is hereby further amended to read as follows:

"SEC. 14. Regional Trial Courts. -

"x x x"

"(m) Twenty-six Regional Trial Court Judges shall be commissioned for the Twelfth Judicial Region. There shall be: "Six branches with seats thereat for the Province of Lanao del Sur and the City of Marawi, with seats at Marawi City, Malabang and Wao;

"x x x."

- SEC. 2. The Supreme Court shall assign the additional branch of the Regional Trial Court in the Municipality of Wao, Province of Lanao del Sur in accordance with this Act.
- SEC. 3. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, in coordination with the Secretary of the Department of Justice, shall immediately include in the court's program the operationalization of the additional regional trial court branch in the Province of Lanao del Sur, with station at the Municipality of Wao, the funding of which shall be included in the annual General Appropriations Act.

SEC. 4. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved,

MANNY VILLAR
President of the Senate

ISSE DE VENECIAIR.

Speaker of the House

of Representatives

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on November 14, 2005 and February 19, 2007, respectively.

OSCAR G. YABES Secretary of the Senate

ROBERTO P. NAZARENO Secrejary General House of Representatives

Approved: APR 10 2007

GLORYA MACAPAGAL ARROYO

President of the Philippines

