H. No. 8662

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

BY REPRESENTATIVES MERCADO, LEACHON, ZAMORA (M.C.), VELOSO, SY-ALVARADO, AGGABAO, TEJADA, DUAVIT, DEL MAR, LOBREGAT, HOFER, ALMONTE, CALIXTO-RUBIANO, GONZALEZ, RAMOS, VILLARICA, ABELLANOSA, MANGAOANG, BULUT-BEGTANG, YU, MARQUEZ, GASATAYA, ENVERGA, YAP (M.), UNGAB, BATAOIL, SILVERIO, UY (J.), CANAMA, LACSON, GO (M.), BROSAS, LAGMAN, CAMINERO, MONTORO, ALEJANO, MARINO AND VIOLAGO, PER COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 962

AN ACT CREATING TWO (2) ADDITIONAL BRANCHES OF THE REGIONAL TRIAL COURT IN THE EIGHTH JUDICIAL REGION TO BE STATIONED IN THE CITY OF MAASIN AND IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF SOGOD, PROVINCE OF SOUTHERN LEYTE, AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTION 14(1) OF BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 129, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS "THE JUDICIARY REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1980", AS AMENDED

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Two (2) additional branches of the Regional Trial
Court in the Eighth Judicial Region are hereby created and
stationed in the City of Maasin and in the Municipality of Sogod,
Province of Southern Leyte.

The Supreme Court shall assign the respective branch numbers for the newly created branches of the Regional Trial Court.

5

6

| 1 | SEC. 2. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, in |
|---|--|
| 2 | coordination with the Secretary of the Department of Justice, shall |
| 3 | immediately include in the Court's program the operationalization |
| 4 | of the two (2) additional branches of the Regional Trial Court to be |
| 5 | stationed in the City of Maasin and in the Municipality of Sogod, |
| 6 | Province of Southern Leyte, the funding of which shall be included |
| 7 | in the annual General Appropriations Act. |
| | |

SEC. 3. Section 14(i) of Batas Pambansa Blg. 129, otherwise known as "The Judiciary Reorganization Act of 1980", as amended, and all other laws, rules and regulations which are inconsistent with this Act are hereby amended, repealed or modified accordingly.

SEC. 4. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the Official Gazette or in a newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,

5 6 7

8

9

10

11 12

13 14