HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

H. No. 6337

BY REPRESENTATIVE MERCADO, PER COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 949

AN ACT PROVIDING FOR THE REAPPORTIONMENT OF THE PROVINCE OF SOUTHERN LEYTE INTO TWO (2) LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. On the next national and local elections after the
 effectivity of this Act, the Province of Southern Leyte is hereby reapportioned
 into two (2) legislative districts, as follows:

4 (a) First Legislative District - The First Legislative District shall be
5 composed of the City of Maasin and the municipalities of Macrohon, Padre
6 Burgos, Llmasawa, Malitbog, Tomas Oppus and Bontoc; and

7 (b) Second Legislative District - The Second Legislative District
8 shall be composed of the municipalities of Sogod, Libagon, Liloan,
9 San Francisco, Pintuyan, San Ricardo, Saint Bernard, Anahawan, San Juan,
10 Hinundayan, Hinunangan and Silago.

SEC. 2. The incumbent Representative of the Lone Legislative District
 of the Province of Southern Leyte shall continue to represent the legislative
 district until the new Representatives of the First and Second Legislative
 Districts shall have been elected and qualified.

- SEC. 3. The Commission on Elections shall issue the necessary rules
 and regulations to implement this Act.
- 3 SEC. 4. All laws, rules and regulations which are inconsistent with this
 4 Act are hereby repealed, amended or modified accordingly,
- A Act are increased, amended of modified accordingly,
- 5 SEC. 5. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication
- 6 in the Official Gazette or in a newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,

0