# Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Fourteenth Congress

First Regular Session

### Resolution No. 74

RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING THE OUTSTANDING PHILIPPINE SOLDIERS (T.O.P.S.) OF 2008 AWARDED BY THE ROTARY CLUB OF MAKATI METRO AND THE METROBANK FOUNDATION, INC.

WHEREAS, The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers or T.O.P.S. is an annual search which is a project jointly undertaken by the Rotary Club of Makati Metro and the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., in consonance with the conviction of both these organizations to honor excellence in the pursuit of a vocation;

WHEREAS, the Rotary Club of Makati Metro launched the T.O.P.S. in September 12, 1994 as an expression of the civilian sector's appreciation and gratitude for the selfless sacrifices of the men and women in the military to help build a free, fair and affluent society;

WHEREAS, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., on the other hand, has been extending grants to the various military educational institutions since 1995 as a sign of gratitude for the military's efforts to ensure our country's sovereignty, including the setting up of a P10 million-endowment fund in 1999 for a recognition program for outstanding soldiers;

WHEREAS, in the last six years, the Rotary Club of Makati Metro and the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. have jointly implemented the Search for T.O.P.S. wherein the latter, utilizing its experience in running similar contests such as the Search for Outstanding Teachers, has provided technical and logistical assistance to further improve and professionalize the competition;

WHEREAS, in 2003, the Rotary Club of Makati Metro and the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., in consultation with the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), introduced a whole new T.O.P.S. wherein the competition now recognizes the career contribution of a soldier within the last seven (7) years of his/her service in the military, unlike in the previous years of the Search where only individual achievements within a single year were recognized;

WHEREAS, the competition awards a maximum of ten (10) winners which shall be chosen from among all Officers with a rank of Captain up to Colonel and Enlisted Personnel of the Major Services of the AFP as well as from among all Officers with a rank of Captain up to Lieutenant Colonel of the Technical Services of the AFP (Medical Corps, Nurses Corps, Veterinary Corps, Dental Corps, Medical Administration Corps, Engineering Corps, Chaplain Service, Judge Advocate General Service, and the Corps of Professors);

WHEREAS, the Search for T.O.P.S. raises the models of excellence within the military which the other soldiers should emulate, and likewise represents the ideals being upheld by the larger sector of the national community represented by both the Rotary Club of Makati Metro and the Metrobank Foundation, Inc.;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate proudly joins the Rotary Club of Makati Metro and the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. in honoring and commending the gallant men and women who have risked life and limb in the defense of our country's sovereignty through this year's 2008 Search for The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers;

WHEREAS, the Roll of Honor for this year's winners of T.O.P.S. consists of three (3) men from the Philippine Army, three (3) men from the Philippine Air Force, three (3) men from the Philippine Navy, and one (1) woman from the Technical Support Services of the AFP: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, That the Philippine Senate honor and commend, as it hereby commends. The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers (T.O.P.S.) chosen by the Rotary Club of Makati Metro and the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. in their 2008 Search for T.O.P.S., namely:

#### From the Philippine Army

Commissioned Officer Category

1. Colonel JOSELITO E. KAKILALA Military Assistant for Army and Public Affairs Office of Senior Military Assistant/ Office of Public and Legislative Affairs Department of National Defense Camp Aguinaldo, Quezon City

#### Enlisted Personnel Category

- 2. Senior Master Sergeant REYNALDO D. GARCIA Group Sergeant Major Headquarters and Headquarters Support Group Philippine Army, Fort Bonifacio, Taguig City
- 3. Staff Sergeant RODEL E. BONIFACIO Trainor/Marksmanship Instructor Scout Ranger Training School First Scout Ranger Regiment Special Operations Command Philippine Army, San Miguel, Bulacan

## From the Philippine Air Force

Commissioned Officer Category

- 4. Captain RANDY G. BANCE Chief, Course Implementation Division Academics Department, Air Force Officer School Villamor Air Base, Pasay City Enlisted Personnel Category
- 5. Technical Sergeant SANDY R. TERANIA Aviations Communication Technician 17th Attack Squadron, 15th Strike Wing Major Danilo Atienza Air Base Sangley Point, Cavite City
- 6. Technical Sergeant JESUS B. FABIAN Master Explosive Ordnance Disposal Technician/Training Technician 770th Special Operations Combat Support Group 710th Special Operations Wing Philippine Air Force, Clark Air Base, Pampanga

## From the Philippine Navy

Commissioned Officer Category

7. Captain JOSE RENAN C. SUAREZ Director, Naval Modernization Office Headquarters Philippine Navy Roxas Boulevard, Manila

Enlisted Personnel Category

- 8. Radarman 1st Class ROSIMALU D. GALGAO Harbor Pilot Port Facilities, Naval Base Cavite Fort San Felipe, Cavite City
- 9. Chief Petty Officer EDWIN G. PALACIOS Chief Master at Arms Group Support Squadron, Naval Air Group Philippine Fleet, Naval Base Cavite Sangley Point, Cavite City

#### From the Technical Support Services

10. Captain ANA LISA J. MORATA Chief, Nursing Administration and Personnel Management Branch Office of the Chief Nurse Air Force Headquarters Philippine Air Force, Pasay City

for their loyalty and dedication to the Constitution of the Republic of the Philippines, their faithful performance of their sworn duties and responsibilities beyond reproach, and for being model citizens in their respective communities.

Adopted,

MANNY VILLAR
President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 14, 2008.

EMMA LIRID REYES Secretary of the Senate