NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE )
REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES )
First Regular Session )



22 NOV 29 P1:15

SENATE PS. Res. No. <u>332</u>

RECEIVED BY



## **RESOLUTION**

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE STUDENTS OF THE PHILIPPINE SCIENCE HIGH SCHOOL – CENTRAL MINDANAO CAMPUS FOR GARNERING 10 AWARDS FROM THREE DIFFERENT INTERNATIONAL MATHEMATICS AND PHYSICS CONTESTS

**WHEREAS,** the Philippine Senate has, on many occasions, given recognition and commendation to exemplary Filipinos for their contribution in showcasing our relentless pursuit of excellence, and bringing honor and pride to the country by winning international competitions;

**WHEREAS**, the Philippine Science High School – Central Mindanao Campus (PSHS-CMC) students bagged ten (10) awards from three different international Mathematics and Physics competitions, the International Calculus Olympiad, the World's Youngest Physicists Olympiad, and the Online International Math Challenge;

**WHEREAS,** in the 2022 International Calculus Olympiad (ICO), Abdurrazzaq G. Maraye received the gold award while Mohammad Nur G. Casib bagged the silver award, Kent Howell J. Herrera, Louis Francis U. Zaportiza and Vincent C. Canceran got the bronze;

**WHEREAS,** in the World's Youngest Physicists Olympiad (WYPO), Mohammad Nur G. Casib who took home the gold, followed by fellow PSHS students Stanley King Saavedra, Denzel Van Lorenzo and Geolian Marie Lorenzo who got silver;

**WHEREAS,** in the Online International Math Challenge 2022, Abdurrazzaq G. Maraye yet again came out on top, besting 5,000 opponents from 81 countries in the tilt;

WHEREAS, the ICO and WYPO events were put together by the Organizing Center for STEM Olympiad (OCSO), an organization engaged in STEM development that aims to nurture 21<sup>st</sup> century skills for the youth such as critical thinking, creative thinking, collaborations, communication and computational thinking through academic competition. The OCSO was a joint effort and is comprised by STEM organizations from Japan, Indonesia, Vietnam, Germany, Mexico, Greece, Bulgaria, United Arab Emirates, and the Philippines;

**WHEREAS,** the students of the PSHS-CMC deserve the highest commendation and praise for representing our nation on the world stage, proving that our youth can compete with the best of the best from around the world. Their victory is proof that our youth is among the best in the fields of STEM;

**WHEREAS,** their exemplary performance at the aforementioned events deserve to be recognized and appreciated, for their wins will serve as an inspiration to their fellow youth and the future generations to come, showing that the STEM path is something to truly pursue, where they can make a difference in the world by contributing their innovations for the betterment of not only their fellow Filipinos but also the people of the world;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, for the Senate of the Philippines to congratulate and commend the students of the Philippine National High School – Central Mindanao Campus, namely:

- 1. Mohammad Nur G. Casib
- 2. Abdurrazzaq G. Maraye
- 3. Lance Vincent C. Canceran
- 4. Kent Howell J. Herrera
- 5. Lyndon Decasa
- 6. Geolian Marie Lorenzo
- 7. Louis Francis U. Zaportiza
- 8. Stanley King Saavedra
- 9. Denzel Van Mabini
- 10. Junn Marr Perez

For their outstanding performances in the 2022 International Calculus Olympiad (ICO), the World's Youngest Physicists Olympiad (WYPO), and the Online International Math Challenge.

Adopted,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID

Senator