SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES

First Regular Session



'16 AUG 17 P3:14

SENATE

P.S. Res. No. <u>108</u>



Introduced by SENATOR LOREN LEGARDA

RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING THE 2016 METROBANK FOUNDATION OUTSTANDING TEACHERS FOR THEIR PROFOUND COMMITMENT IN PROMOTING A CULTURE OF EXCELLENCE IN EDUCATION

WHEREAS, the unsung heroes of our times are our teachers, deserving of the nation's admiration and respect for their continued quest to educate and shape young minds to help build a better future;

WHEREAS, amidst the difficulties our Filipino teachers face because of meager salaries and benefits and the deplorable condition of many of our school buildings, teaching materials and equipment, they remain dedicated in their duty of educating the youth;

WHEREAS, the Metrobank Foundation seeks to give due credit and incentives to Filipino teachers as an honor to the value of the teaching profession;

WHEREAS, the Metrobank Foundation on its 32nd year, in partnership with the Department of Education (DepEd) and the Commission on Higher Education (CHEd), recognizes those who exhibit competence, remarkable dedication, effective educational leadership, as well as commitment to civic work;

WHEREAS, Winona Diola of De La Salle Santiago Zobel School (Muntinlupa City), Rujealyn Cancino of Lingayen I Central School (Lingayen, Pangasinan), Josephine Chonie Obseñares of Butuan City SPED Center (Butuan City, Agusan del Norte), and Arnol Rosales of Francisco Melgar Memorial School (Naujan, Oriental Mindoro) received the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teachers recognition for the Elementary Competition;

WHEREAS, Roy Basa of Negros Occidental High School (Bacolod City, Negros Occidental), Nelson Agoyaoy of the University of the East Elementary and High School Department (Caloocan City), Ma. Regaele Olarte of Muntinlupa National High School – Main (Muntinlupa City), and Katherine Faith Bustos of Nueva Vizcaya General Comprehensive High School (Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya) received the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teachers recognition for the Secondary Competition;

WHEREAS, Ernelea Cao of the University of the Philippines – Diliman (Quezon City) and Mark Anthony Torres of Mindanao State University - Iligan Institute of Technology (Iligan City, Lanao del Norte) received the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teachers recognition for the Higher Education Competition.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, to honor and commend the 2016 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teachers for their profound commitment in promoting a culture of excellence in education.

Adopted,

LOREN LEGARDA Senator