## Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Metro Manila

Seventeenth Congress

Third Regular Session

Begun and held in Metro Manila, on Monday, the twenty-third day of July, two thousand eighteen.

## [ REPUBLIC ACT NO. 11297]

## AN ACT RENAMING THE PROVINCE OF COMPOSTELA VALLEY AS THE PROVINCE OF DAVAO DE ORO

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Change of Name. - The Province of Compostela Valley is hereby renamed as the Province of Dayao de Oro.

SEC. 2. Conduct and Supervision of Plebiscite. — The renaming of the Province of Compostela Valley as the Province of Davao de Oro shall be subject to ratification by a majority of the votes cast by the qualified voters in a plebiscite to be conducted in the present Province of Compostela Valley.

The Commission on Elections (COMELEC) shall conduct and supervise the plebiscite in compliance with Section 13(g) of Republic Act No. 7160, as amended, otherwise known as the "Local Government Code of 1991".

SEC. 3. Repealing Clause. - Republic Act No. 8470 creating the Province of Compostela Valley is hereby amended. All other laws, decrees, executive orders, and rules and regulations which are inconsistent with this Act are hereby amended, repealed or modified accordingly.

SEC. 4. Effectivity. — This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the Official Gazette or in any newspaper of general circulation.

Approved

VICENTE C. SOTTO III

President of the Senate

GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO

Speaker of the House of Representatives

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was passed by the House of Representatives on May 15, 2018, amended by the Senate of the Philippines on December 10, 2018, and which amendments were concurred in by the House of Representatives on January 29, 2019.

MYRA MARIE D. VILLARICA Secretary of the Senate DANTE ROBERTO P MALING Acting Sedretary General House of Representatives

Approved: APR 1 7 2019

RODRIGO ROA DUTERTE

President of the Philippines

